PROGRAM

Welcome Joshua M. Cockream Trustee, Class of 2017

Presentation of Awards

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Awards Bryanna F. Miller Student Member, Algernon Sydney Alvsa M. Triplett Sullivan Award Committee

Iackson I. L. Nell Caroline R. Rudder

Leah G. Smith

Seven Society Awards Louis A. Onesty Memorial Scholar-Athlete Award

James Earle Sargeant Award UVA Chapter of the Student National Medical Association (SNMA)

Class of 2017 Awards

Class Award for Community Service Shreyas R. Hariharan

Class Award for Cultural Fluency Yolande B. Pokam Tchuisseu

Diamond Award Mario I. Sukkar

Gordon F. Rainey, Jr. Award for Vigilance to the Student Experience

President and CEO of the UVA Alumni Association Dorothy K. "Dorrie" Fontaine

Presentation of the Class Gift

W. Wyatt Moorer and Samantha C. Westrum Class Giving Committee Co-Chairs, Class of 2017

Acceptance of the Class Gift

Teresa A. Sullivan President, University of Virginia

C. Thomas Faulders III

D. Naveed Tavakol

Trustee, Class of 2017

Ngan K. Pham

Trustee, Class of 2017

Presentation of Special Appreciation

Joshua W. Leidy Vice President, Class of 2017

Introduction of Keynote Speaker

Iessie S. Rivera Graduation Committee Chair, Class of 2017

2017 Valedictory Address

Juan Manuel Santos President of Colombia

Farewell Remarks

Patrick F. Rice President, Class of 2017

The Trustees of the Class of 2017

Patrick F. Rice, President Joshua W. Leidy, Vice President

Brooke A Adams Alexis B. Alvarez Alana Marie Ama Sam J. Askenas Taylor P. Barr John W. Bond Jason F. Carrier Darius J. Carter Maripaz Casas Bombardelli Monica A. Casey Yae Ii Cha Faby Chaillo Anna Y. Cho Ioshua M. Cockream DeAnza A. Cook Lauren M. Correia Aija M. Crawford Virginia C. Dittmar Eric E. Dotterer Maia D. Foster Aryn A. Frazier Taylor W. Gestwick Adam M. Ghazzawi Matthew M. Golden Maggie Gratz Ja'Lynn S. Gray Amanda M. Halacy Anne L. Hart Torrey A. Holloway Onyinye R. Ijeh Jeremy M. Jones

Tiffani L. Kennedy

Chadia D.P. King

Kaitlyn M. Kozlowski

Marissa T Lauber Kaitlyn S. Lee Yiming Lin Emily C. Lodge Andrew W. Mackay Jahvonta A. Mason Caroline M. Meyer W. Wyatt Moorer Shota Ono Ngan K. Pham Katherine Cecile Phillips Megan E. Porter Lianne T. Provenzano William R. Rinaldi Iessie S. Rivera Molly E. Sall Gabriella Santiago Maya Singh Madeline M. Smart Samyuktha Srinivasan Andrew C. Strohman Caitlyn M. Syptak D. Naveed Tavakol Mark R. Tolep Victoria E. Travers Alysa M. Triplett Nan Wang Mitchell E. Wellman Samantha C. Westrum Gordon F. Willis, Jr. Dana E. Wilson Yuyan Zhang Melissa M. Zhou

University of Virginia



VALEDICTORY EXERCISES

The Lawn May 19, 2017 3:00 p.m.

COVER DESIGN: Pen-and-ink illustration by Marianne F. Wells, Hampden-Sydney, Virginia

The Class of 2017 would like to remember the following members of our class:

Connor C. Cormier (1995-2014) Hannah E. Graham (1996-2014) Holly M. Edwards (1960-2017)

* * *

Juan Manuel Santos

Juan Manuel Santos is the 32nd President of the Republic of Colombia. Santos is both an economist and journalist, and studied at the Naval Academy in Cartagena, the University of Kansas, the London School of Economics, Harvard University, and the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy.

Santos began his career as economic advisor to the National Federation of Coffee Growers of Columbia and delegate to the International Coffee Organization. He was the director of *El Tiempo* newspaper, and was both a Nieman Fellow for his award-winning journalism work and a Fulbright visiting fellow at Tufts University. Santos was also president of the Freedom of Expression Commission for the Inter-American Press Association and Vice Chair of the Inter-American Dialogue, a Washington think tank.

Santos served as Colombia's first Minister of Foreign Trade, Minister of Finance and Public Credit, and Minister of National Defense. As Defense Minister, Santos strongly opposed guerrilla and terrorist groups and created the Good Government Foundation.

Santos was elected President of Colombia on June 20, 2010, receiving more than 9 million votes – more than any other candidate in the history of Colombian democracy. He was re-elected to a second term in 2014.

On October 7, 2016, Santos received the Nobel Peace Prize for his effort to end 52 years of civil war with the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia (FARC). This work to end the longest-running war in the Americas led to the approval of a peace deal by Colombia's Congress in late November 2016.

Santos has published several books, including *The Third Way*, co-written with former British Prime Minister Tony Blair, and *Check on Terror*, about his actions against FARC during his tenure as the Minister of Defense. He is married to María Clemencia Rodríguez de Santos, with whom he has three children: Martín, María Antonia, and Esteban.

Benefactors of the Class of 2017*

K. Randall Ackerly	William G. Dillon	Jacqueline M. Kouri	Alexa M. Riccolo
Zachary D. Ackerman	Virginia C. Dittmar	Roger J. Lavan	Esteban Santos
Catherine E. Aichholz	Matthew J. Emery	Stephanie A. Legg	William W. Schimmels
Kerri M. Anderson	Elizabeth E. Farrell	Matthew E. Leon	D. Peter Schnuck
Natalie M. Anderson	Dylan Anderson Frazer	Andre Levrone, Jr.	Allison M. Snow
Abraham G. Axler	S. Price Gillock	Tyler R. Lewis	Samyuktha Srinivasan
Julia E. Baker	Jessica S. Godt	Yiming Lin	Ryan M. Tasker-Benson
Stephen M. Barlow	Xi Han	Declan C. Mawer	Peter R. Thompson
Catherine C. Barnes	Merrill C. Hermann	Katherine Monroe	Lelia E. Troiano
Sean P. Brady	W. Hunter Hewlett	W. Wyatt Moorer	Victoria A. Villar-Villar
Marijane K. Brennan	Eliza Garner Hodgson	Katelyn Nelson	Mitchell E. Wellman
Cameron Marc Champeau	Daniel A. Hultzen	Rosemary M. O'Hagan	Margaret G. Willetts
Candace I. Collins	Eun Tack Hwang	Henry C. Pollock	Alice Xinyi Xie
Eliza R. Costas	Eisha Jain	Megan E. Porter	Benjamin A. Yahnian
Blake A. Culver	Steven Kiernan	Steven C. Proscia	Hannah M. Zachman
Colby K. Dickinson	Lila G. King	Chloe T. Rento	Xinning Zhang

 $^{^{*}}$ Donated \$170 or more toward the Class