PROGRAM

Welcome Wittney E. Skigen
Trustee, Class of 2019

Presentation of Awards

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Awards

Jordan E. Arnold Rehan A. Baddeliyanage Jane Miller

Seven Society Awards

Louis A. Onesty Memorial Scholar-Athlete Award Anna K. Redding

James Earle Sargeant Award
The Living Wage Campaign at UVA

Class of 2019 Awards

Class Award for Community Service Corinne N. Singh

Class Award for Cultural Fluency Rawda Fawaz

Bicentennial Leadership Award Austin L. Widner

The Society of the Purple Shadows' Award

Gordon F. Rainey, Jr. Award for Vigilance to the Student Experience Claudrena N. Harold

Presentation of the Class GiftPaolo Abiad and Rachel L. Clark
Class Giving Committee Co-Chairs, Class of 2019

Acceptance of the Class Gift

James E. Ryan President, University of Virginia

Rebecca N. Soistmann

President, University of Virginia

Nikhith G. Kalkunte

Housing & Residence Life

Nicholas W. Tully

Trustee, Class of 2019

Mariana A. Brazao

Trustee, Class of 2019

Iames E. Ryan

Co-Chair, Residence Staff Program,

Presentation of Special Appreciation

Vice President, Class of 2019

Introduction of Keynote Speaker

Michelle S. Hong Graduation Committee Chair, Class of 2019

2019 Valedictory Address

Pharrell L. Williams Recording Artist, Producer, Philanthropist, Fashion Designer, Author, and Entrepreneur

Farewell Remarks

Galen K. Green President, Class of 2019

The Trustees of the Class of 2019

Galen K. Green, President Rebecca N. Soistmann, Vice President

Paolo Abiad Surika Absar Razan O. Adam Al H Ahmed Alexis D. Artis Rehan A. Baddeliyanage Gordon L. Bailey Andrew J. Benvenuto Sarah M. Bonde Mariana A Brazao Madison E. Briggs Katie M. Brown Katherine N. Carlson Hally F. Carver Chi L. Chan Rachel Clark Aidan Comerford Colter J. Corish Margaret A. Evett Lauren S. Flores Hannah B. Flynn Elizabeth M. Forward Alexandra M. Gavino Sabrina G. Grandhi Galen K. Green Chloe M. Grinage Paige A. Harper Chesdin R. Harrington Saajid A. Hasan

William Hicks

Zane Homsi

Michelle S. Hong

Morgan E. Hunt

Rajan D. Jani

Kendall N. Johnson

Brandon W. Kim

Noah E. Kim

Anna M. Kuno Athena Lee Andrew I. Levv Deanna Lewis Lauryn N. Major Christine McDermott Katherine M. McGinn Sharvani S. Mehta Michael W. Mellen Kathryn G. Mendenhall Noah R. Mussmon Kelly T. O'Meara Marie Emanuelle Olavere Erika Osherow Amanda L. Patton Iustin L. Pimentel Anna K. Powell Catherine A. Powell Iordan T. Richardson Vignesh D. Sastri Justin T. Shalap Wittney E. Skigen Rebecca N. Soistmann Cameron Stokes Ana P. Torres Nicholas W. Tully Amelia F. Wald Melvin G. Walker Mindv Wei Barry L. White, Jr. Rvan C. Woodward Briana M. Woody Naomi Yohannes Sara Zahir

Camila S. Zarate

Jennifer Zhou

Ty A. Zirkle

University of Virginia



VALEDICTORY EXERCISES

The Lawn May 17, 2019 3:00 p.m.

COVER DESIGN: Pen-and-ink illustration by Marianne F. Wells, Hampden-Sydney, Virginia

The Class of 2019 would like to remember the following members of our class:

Rehan A. Baddeliyanage (1997-2019) John Paul Popovich (1996 - 2015) Rouzbeh Rastgarkafshgarkolaei (1991 - 2018)

* * *

Pharrell Williams

Pharrell Williams is an American producer, songwriter, philanthropist, designer, and entrepreneur. He and childhood friend Chad Hugo comprise the music production duo, *The Neptunes*. Mr. Williams is also the lead vocalist of N*E*R*D, and is a prolific solo artist and collaborator. He has earned thirteen Grammy Awards, ASCAP's Golden Note Award, and several BET Awards, BBC Music Awards, and Billboard Music Awards. He has been an Academy Award, Emmy, and Golden Globe nominee, in addition to numerous other recognitions.

Mr. Williams has worked in numerous artistic genres and explored the worlds of design and business. He has excelled as a fashion designer and launched several fashion brands, including *Billionaire Boys Club* and *Ice Cream* and has co-designed with Louis Vuitton, Moncler, Chanel, Marc Jacobs, and Adidas. He runs the innovative textile company *Bionic Yarn* and the Dutch denim brand *G-Star Raw*. Together, the two companies collaborate on the eco-conscious fashion project *RAW for the Oceans*, which is a denim collection made from recycled plastics retrieved from the ocean. Additionally, Mr. Williams has created sculptures, designed furniture, and published books, while creating platforms for other artists to make and share their work. He has curated art exhibits, produced film and television, opened a restaurant and cocktail lounge called *Swan* and *Bar Bevy*, and launched the *Something in the Water* music festival this year in his hometown of Virginia Beach.

In addition to his creative endeavors, Mr. Williams founded a non-profit organization called *From One Hand to AnOTHER* (FOHTA), which provides primarily at-risk and low-income elementary and middle school students with resources and services to help them succeed. The organization currently operates summer camps focused on S.T.E.A.M.M. – Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, Mathematics, and Motivation -- for more than 1,700 students nationwide. FOHTA continues to expand each year, including partnerships with Eastern Virginia Medical School and NASA.

In addition to his work through FOHTA, Mr. Williams recently announced a new partnership with Verizon to launch a tech-fused music curriculum to under-resourced middle schools and funded a \$35 million resource center and safe space for children in Virginia Beach. Mr. Williams' other philanthropic activities include support of Musicians on Call, the United Negro College Fund, the Indigenous Environmental Network, the Get Schooled Foundation, and others.

Mr. Williams is married to Helen Lasichanh, and they have four children.

Benefactors of the Class of 2019*

Jesse S. Alloy	Carolyn P. Edwards	Adam J. Koeppel	Brian J. Righter
Noelle R. Anderson	John S. Flagg	James H. Levenberg	Mary Rockwell
Andrei L. Armanca	Ryan B. French	Colette Marcellin	Lynette Sequeira
Robert E. Brailsford, Jr.	Megan E. Greatorex	Hanks C. Massey	Diego D. Sierra
Lauren A. Branche	Galen K. Green	Ryan P. McNulty	Rebecca N. Soistmann
Louis P. Brown	Charles R. Hall	Patrick E. McVerry	Alec C. Tekamp
Hally F. Carver	William Hicks	Thomas M. Mulholland	Tallulah R. Tepper
James D. Cathcart	Matthew R. Hrabchak	Brendan T. Nigro	Mikaela M. Thiess
Mary Boyd Crosier	Meghan Jones	Connor M. Nolan	Isabel Weiss
Robert H. Cross	Geoffrey T. Keating II	Edward J. O'Rourke	Jake R. Wisnicki
Ryan Z. Curtis	Mariah Kenny	Aaron Petitt	Jasmine Zollar
Anant Das	Hannah M. Kirk Nass	Lili Pillari	
Timothy S. Dodson	Marcus Klotz	Andrew Powell	

^{*} Donated \$150 or more toward the Class